• Current Stats

    Height: 6' 2"
    Weight: 296.2 lbs
    Total Lost: 93.2 lbs
    Body Fat%: 36%
    Total Fat Lost: 104 lbs

    Hat Size: 8
    Jeans: 40x32
    T-Shirt XXL

  • Chad’s Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

One Year of 4 Hour Body

This last week marked the one year anniversary of starting 4 hour body.  It was an anniversary that almost slipped by without notice.  When I started the diet, I didn’t prepare very well.  I didn’t write down all of my stats, I didn’t take the before picture, I didn’t measure everything, I just started.  I did start this blog, and I did weigh in, but that was about it.  It took me a couple weeks to even create a spreadsheet to track my weight.  Once I listened to the Nerdist Podcast that Tim Ferriss was on, I ordered the book and started the diet within a week.  There was just something about the whole thing that struck a chord and I knew I had to get started ASAP. Here is the link to the Podcast if anyone wants to listen to it: Nerdist Podcast #73

When I started, I picked a couple days that Sabrina was going to be out of town.  Normally these kinds of days I would have hog wild with food.  I am talking Macaroni and Cheese Pizza Deep Fried balls with Cookie crumbs and Ice Cream float.  So starting a diet were I ate beans and vegetables didn’t compute.  I really felt like I wasn’t going to make it to day 3 of the diet, but I had one thing going for me, I told everyone I was going to do it.  So I was stuck for at least a couple weeks of giving it a go.  Luckily after a couple days, it got a lot easier.  I got used to the veggies and meat without bread.  I found things that made it easier and started to discover ways to eat beans that didn’t make me gag.

By no means was it easy and it still isn’t.  I have a fat little kid living inside of me and every time I drive by Dairy Queen, he yells at me that Blizzards are delicious and that I can get a Hot Dog with Cheese to wash it down.  When you grow up a fat kid, you learn how to hide your eating.  You know how to hide your breadcrumbs and keep people off your trail.  That urge still comes out all the time.  It takes everything in me sometimes, to resist it and not jump over the glass at Panera’s and take the bakery in the name of Spain.

After this year, there are only a couple regrets.  I wish I would have been more committed to exercise, but my schedule hasn’t allowed it as much I would have liked.  This summer will hopefully change that.  I also wish I would have detailed in starting the program.  There is a lot of data that I feel like I lost by not doing more.  I would have liked to have really good fat percentage numbers, detailed measurements and some before pics.  They aren’t make or break things, but they do help motivate me as I go along.  Knowing that I weigh less now than I did 10 years ago makes a big difference.  Those milestones to shoot for are huge motivators.

I am going to start the second year with renewed enthusiasm and focus.  I am going to run as much as I can and hopefully get into a weight and PT routine.  This summer I will really pick up the running more and hopefully see a difference.  I still have a lot of New Years Resolutions to work on and hopefully check off my list.

One last thing, I want to give a special thanks to Sabrina for being so supportive and generous though this entire year.  I think she thought I was crazy when I came home and said I was starting a diet where you only eat meat, beans and vegetables, but she went right a long with me.  When I decided we should start running, she came right a long with me, and has been my biggest cheerleader the whole time.  I couldn’t have done it without her!

Thanks to all of you who read this.  Just the fact that someone reads my crazy diet ramblings, makes it easier to stick to the diet.  Knowing I am accountable in some small way, keeps me on the path.

2 Responses

  1. Great post! Keep up the good work & kudos to Sabrina for her support efforts! I felt like I was reading an award acceptance speech. And I mean that in the best way possible. Good health is its own reward & award for hard work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

